The South African Honeybush Tea Association (SAHTA) is the representative body of the Honeybush Industry. It was formed in 1999 to coordinate activities in the industry (it was originally known as the South African Honeybush Producers Association). SAHTA became an Article 21 Company on 27 May 2009. Its directors are elected from its members. SAHTA aims to promote a competitive, non-discriminative and profitable honeybush industry in South Africa. It also promotes equal entry and participation in the industry and the sustainable use of environmental resources. Virtually all interactions with government departments and funders can only be done by a representative portion of the industry and not by individuals. Examples would be the following:

  • Promote the cultivation of Honeybush Tea to ensure a sustainable source of raw material to processors in the future. Cultivation is the future of the Honeybush Tea industry as the wild harvesting of Honeybush are saturated already
  • South African Economic Partnership Programme - Concept Note on Geographical Indications (GI) and the continuous updating of new countries we want to list
  • Set export standards and the continuous updating of it for the Industry
  • Negotiations with PPECB on a continuous basis to fine-tune stats
  • Negotiations with PPECB on a continuous basis regarding new conditions/restrictions they want to implement
  • Upholding of the industry website
  • Negotiations with government regarding new rules and regulations i.e. Biodiversity Management Plan and others
  • Negotiations with HBCoP on a regular input basis regarding rules and regulations for the industry
  • Negotiations with Hortgro regarding the allocation of Alternative Crop Funding for research and other matters we think necessary and to give feedback on a regular basis
  • Negotiations with Wesgro when government wants to start new initiatives, The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) when they want to start new initiatives in the Honeybush Industry, etcetera
  • Negotiations with DEFF regarding TK requirements and other regulations
  • The industry gets many applications on a regular basis from people with new initiatives where SAHTA have to give input about the feasibility of the applications
  • SAHTA has to answer virtually on a daily basis enquiries about Honeybush from new potential entrants to the industry, people who want more information about something specific, want to write articles and so forth.

As a member of SAHTA you therefore have access to the world of natural products and the opportunity to connect to many in the industry including regulatory departments like the HBCoP, DEFF, DTI, DSI, CSRI, ARC, CapeNature, SANParks, SANBI, Department of Agriculture, NGO’s, paid research by Universities, PPECB negotiations, funding opportunities, Hortgro, WESGRO, Industrial leaders, communities and others. SAHTA is your Voice of Reason in negotiations with all of the above.


SAHTA Logo and Banner

The SAHTA Logo and Banner is available for use under the following conditions:
  • The applicant to use the SAHTA Logo and Banner must be a member of SAHTA unless special permission was given by the Board of Directors
  • The use of the SAHTA Logo and Banner must be according to SAHTA’s rules and regulations and the image SAHTA wants to reflect
  • To use the SAHTA Logo and Banner the applicant needs the permission of the SAHTA Board of Directors
  • To apply for the use of the SAHTA Logo and Banner please apply and motivate via email: info@sahta.co.za

SAHTA Board of Directors

Eugene Smith (Chairperson)
Johan Kritzinger
Quinton Nortje
Ken Dodds
Megan Bruintjies

Erelede/Honourable members

Dr Hannes de Lange
Prof Lizette Joubert
Dr Cecilia Bester